Skip To Main Content

Color1 BG Container

District Nav

Landing Nav

Good News May 28

  • Good News Announcements
Good News May 28

Congratulations to all of our FWPS mathletes for their outstanding performance at the 13th annual Federal Way Math Contest for students in grades 4-8! Almost 150 students from multiple districts across the state competed in this event.

Our scholars excelled in a variety of categories and divisions including Geometry, Mental Math, Algebra, and Gemini.

Congratulations to our third through fifth grade scholars who participated in the district-wide Battle of the Books 2024! In this competition, scholars grouped in teams of four and demonstrated their passion for reading as they answered 25 questions related to the 12 books they had to read for the competition.

Today, we’re excited to honor the scholars who placed first through third at the district tournament. 

  • Brigadoon Elementary’s team, “20,000 Tigers Under the Sea”, earned first place in the district-wide competition.
  • In second place, there was a 3-way tie between Green Gables Elementary’s team “The Order of the Phoenix”, Sherwood Forest Elementary’s “The Boiiiz”, and Woodmont K-8’s “Firestar”. 
  • In third place, there was a 4-way tie between Adelaide Elementary’s team “Go With the Cheese”, Mirror Lake Elementary’s “The Minions”, Nautilus K-8’s “The Book Starbursts”, and Twin Lakes Elementary’s “B.O.O.T.”.

Congratulations to our outstanding scholars from all four of our comprehensive high schools for earning prestigious academic and merit scholarships to pursue post-secondary education. Our scholars received scholarships including:

  • the Washington State Opportunity Scholarship, supporting students in high-demand STEM and health care fields. This scholarship is designed to bridge the gap for students pursuing careers in these critical industries.
  • the Act Six scholarship, which provides full-tuition leadership scholarships to emerging urban and community leaders. This program aims to develop a new generation of leaders who will positively impact their communities.
  • the 28th Annual Tacoma Pan-Hellenic Council Founders' Day Scholarship, honoring students who have demonstrated academic excellence and community service, continuing the legacy of leadership and service.
  • the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Scholarship,  awarded to students who excel academically and exemplify the values of scholarship and service excellence to the community.

Congratulations to Todd Beamer High School's Athletic Director, Rick Phillips, for earning his Certified Athletic Administrator (CAA) certification from the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA).

Achieving this national certification is a significant milestone, reflecting Rick’s dedication, expertise, and commitment to excellence in the field of interscholastic athletic administration. The CAA certification is awarded to athletic directors who demonstrate the highest level of knowledge and proficiency in the field, as outlined by the NIAAA's rigorous standards.  Rick is one of an elite group of interscholastic athletic administrators nationwide to attain this level of professionalism.

Congratulations to Federal Way Public Schools' Director of Equity and Athletics, Jerry Peterson, for receiving the prestigious Gareth Giles Memorial Award at the 2024 Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

This distinguished award is a testament to Jerry Peterson's exceptional leadership, dedication, and impactful contributions to the field of athletics and equity. The Gareth Giles Memorial Award honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service and commitment to interscholastic athletics in Washington State.

Jerry has served Federal Way Public Schools for nearly 40 years as a teacher, coach, and athletic director and significantly enhanced our district's athletic programs. His leadership extends beyond our district, as he has served on numerous district and state committees, earning his Certified Master Athletic Administrator (CMAA) designation, and being named league Athletic Director of the Year three times.

We want to acknowledge the 2023-24 Scholar Representatives to the Board members Joseph Coker, Quinton (King) Jackson, and Alinea Kirshenbaum for providing valuable input on school district operations throughout the school year.

Thank you for your leadership!